News Archive

McCracken County High School Wins First Place at WKCTC's 2018 President's Cup

Published on Jan 8, 2018

PADUCAH, KY (01/04/2018) Ten regional high schools competed in the 2018 President's Cup Academic Bowl held at West Kentucky Community and Technical College January 4.

McCracken County High School took home the top prize with Calloway County and Madisonville-North Hopkins high schools winning second and third place trophies, respectively.

Other participating high schools were Ballard Memorial, Caldwell County, Graves County, Marshall County, Murray, Paducah Tilghman, and St. Mary.

"These teams represented wonderful scholars from our region, and it is a pleasure to have these students on our campus," noted Gary Goodaker, WKCTC mathematics and vice president of the West Kentucky Academic Association. "We at WKCTC are proud to bring attention to their hard work and dedication to learning."

The competition consisted of individual written assessments in and arts/humanities, language arts mathematics, science, social studies, and quick recall matches.

The top five written assessment winners were chosen from each category. First place winners were:

  • Arts/Humanities - Martha Popescu, Madisonville-North Hopkins
  • Language Arts - (tie) Anna Grace McGee, Paducah Tilghman and Kati Wyant, Calloway County
  • Mathematics - Drew Schofield, McCracken County
  • Science - Ethan Brown, McCracken County
  • Social Studies - Conrad Cash, Marshall County

McCracken County head coach, Tammy Bohannon, said the team practices four days a week for an hour and half after school throughout the year, and many hours of their own time to prepare themselves for competition. She said the WKCTC competition was a great way to get her team ready for the next levels.

"This is a good experience for them. Competing with these teams gives them a good barometer of what's coming for Governor's Cup." The Governor's Cup will be held at the district level on January 27 followed by the regionals on February 17 and the state competition March 17-19.