News Archive

WKCTC Honored Faculty and Staff at Awards Reception April 20

PADUCAH, KY (04/23/2018) West Kentucky Community and Technical College faculty members Sanci Teague and Tracy McDanel were among seven employees recognized during a faculty and staff awards reception April 20.

Sanci Teague, First Year Experience coordinator and Quality Enhancement Plan director, received the Phelps Award, named in memory of Finis Sargent Phelps and Florence Grubbs Phelps and was established at the college in 1991. The purpose of this award is to emphasize quality, promote academic excellence, and reward competence in teaching in the liberal arts and sciences disciplines. Teague, a Benton resident, joined the college faculty in 2011. She earned a bachelor's degree in secondary English education from the University of Kentucky and a master's degree in English literature from Murray State University.

Cosmetology Program Coordinator Tracy McDanel of La Center, received the Paducah Junior College Faculty Award, which was established in 1999 and recognizes quality, competence and excellence in teaching in a technical field. A licensed cosmetologist, McDanel became a WKCTC faculty member in 1999. She has worked to prepare students for their careers through activities such as visits to various assisting living facilities to provide cosmetology services to residents and coordinating an annual cosmetology contest event at the college to encourage students' skills and creativity.

Kevil resident Emily Esau received WKCTC's Adjunct Faculty Award, recognizing the outstanding contributions and achievements of a dedicated adjunct faculty member who provides exemplary service to WKCTC students. Hired in 2016, Esau is a visual communication instructor at the college's Paducah School of Art and Design. She previously worked with numerous businesses in western Kentucky, middle Tennessee, California and North Carolina. She earned a bachelor's degree in graphic art and design from Nashville's Nossi College of Art and a master's degree in advertising and copywriting from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco.

Barbara Maxey of Wickliffe has worked at the college since 2001. She began her career in Matheson Library and completed an associate in applied science degree in office systems during her first year. Maxey has also worked in other areas of the college, including serving as the executive administrative assistant for three presidents. Since 2009, she has worked diligently as the secretary to the WKCTC Board of Directors. During the April 20 awards ceremony, board chair Jason Jones said Maxey has been "the glue that has held everything together."

In addition, Carrie Hopper, Justin Hill and Darla Howerton, all of Paducah, were recognized as 2018 WKCTC Awards of Excellence recipients.

Carrie Hopper, dean of the allied health and personal services, received the faculty award. She joined the WKCTC faculty in 2001 and has previously served as a division assistant, instructional specialist and program coordinator for the dental assisting program. Hopper earned a bachelor's and master's of science degrees from Murray State University and an associate in applied science degree and diploma in dental assisting from WKCTC.

Justin Hill received the administrative staff award. Hired at WKCTC in 2014, Hill serves as a Community Scholarship Program (CSP) completion coach. As an advisor and mentor, he encourages and guides CSP students to be successful both academically and personally. He also mentors students playing for the West Kentucky Stars, WKCTC's club basketball team. Hill earned an associate in arts degree in general education from Rend Lake College and a bachelor's of science degree in health/physical education from Murray State University.

Darla Howerton, who has worked at the college since 1999, received the support staff award. As Senior Administrative Assistant in WKCTC's Office of Institutional Advancement, she provides crucial support for the Paducah Junior College Foundation (PJC), which is managed by the Advancement office, and for all advancement functions. Howerton is responsible for PJC board correspondence, scheduling and records management. She handles receivables and payables for multiple account streams and ensures accuracy in the exchange of funds from the foundation to college departments. She also assists with fundraising events and provides support in the areas of grants, scholarship awards, alumni relations and community partnerships. Howerton earned a bachelor's of science degree for Southern Illinois University and an associate in science degree from Southeastern Illinois College.

Six administrative and faculty retirees, who represent 130 years of dedication to the college and its students, were also recognized during the April 20 ceremony.

Mike Stewart, professor of computer and information technologies, retires after 28 years at the college. Edna Pierce, division administrative assistant for the science and math division, leaves the college after 26 years and Dr. Steve Freeman, dean of community, workforce and economic development, retires after 23 years of service. Tammy Potter, dean of the business and computer related technologies division, retires after 21 years with college. Barbara Maxey retires after 17 years and Writing Instructor Maria Flynn leaves the college after 15 years of service.