News Archive

Faculty and Staff Members Recognized

Six faculty and staff members were recognized during a reception Friday, April 27 at West Kentucky Community and Technical College. The Phelps Award and the Paducah Junior College Faculty Award were presented to two faculty members during the reception.

Norita Youngblood of Mayfield received the Phelps Award, named in memory of Finis Sargent Phelps and Florence Grubbs Phelps that was established at the college in 1991. The purpose of this award is to emphasize quality, promote academic excellence, and reward competence in teaching in the Liberal Arts and Sciences disciplines. Youngblood, a professor of psychology, was named Teacher of the Year by the student body last year.

Craig Dickerson of Burna was presented the Paducah Junior College Faculty Award. Dickerson, coordinator for the collision repair technology program, has been at the college since 2007. The PJC award was established in 1999 and also recognizes quality, competence, and excellence in teaching in a technical field.

Kim Russell and Dr. Karen Boyd, both of Paducah, and Bobbi Buchanan of Symsonia were named nominees for the Kentucky Community and Technical College Systems 2012 New Horizon Award.

Each KCTCS college nominates one administrative member, one faculty member, and one staff member for the award by their fellow college employees. One faculty member, one administrative member, and one staff member from the more than 45 people nominated will be chosen as the top staff and faculty representative at a special awards banquet to be held in Louisville in May.

Russell, coordinator of the English program, was nominated in the faculty category and was recently named an exemplary leader by the Chair Academy. She has worked at the college for six years.

Dr. Boyd, coordinator of institutional research, was named WKCTCs administrative staff award nominee, and Buchanan, a custodian, was nominated in the support staff category.

WKCTC President Barbara Veazey, herself surprised with a special recognition marking her 10 years as a college president during the reception, thanked history professor Berry Craig of Mayfield for his donation of more than $5,200 from the sale of four history books to the colleges scholarship fund.