News Archive

WKCTC 2011 New Horizons' Winners

West Kentucky Community amp; Technical College honored five faculty and staff members on Friday.

Jason Taylor of Paducah received the Phelps Award, named in memory of Finis Sargent Phelps and Florence Grubbs Phelps. The college established the award in 1991 to emphasize quality, promote academic excellence, and reward competence in teaching in the liberal arts and sciences disciplines. Taylor, an associate professor of mathematics, has worked at the college since 2001 and has chaired several Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) mathematics curricula committees.

Jason is a talented and caring instructor, who utilizes innovative techniques in his classroom to involve the students in active learning processes, said Karen Hlinka, chair of the Science and Mathematics Division. His quiet persistence challenges his colleagues to be innovative and dedicated as well.

Gary Reese of Paducah received the Paducah Junior College Excellence in Teaching Faculty Award. The PJC award was established in 1999 and also recognizes quality. Reese has been coordinator of the Criminal Justice and the Homeland Security and Emergency Management programs since 2008. He formerly worked for the Paducah Police Department where he served as Assistant Chief of Police.

Mellisa Duncan and William Wade, both of Paducah, and Edna Pierce of Calvert City were recognized as WKCTC's nominees for the Kentucky Community and Technical College Systems 2011 New Horizon Award.

Each KCTCS college nominates one administrative staff member, one faculty member and one support staff member for the award. One person in each category will be recognized as the systems overall winner in May.

Duncan, director of the Challenger Learning Center at Paducah, was nominated in the administrative category and has worked at the college since 2006. Wade, dean of online learning, was nominated in the faculty category and has worked at the college since August 1970. Pierce, an administrative assistant for the Science and Mathematics Division, was nominated in the staff category. Pierce has worked at the college for 20 years.