News Archive

WKCTC President's Cup Academic Bowl

WKCTC President's Cup Academic Bowl ParticipantsMore than 125 students from ten regional high schools competed in the 2011 Presidents Cup Academic Bowl held at West Kentucky Community and Technical College on January 6.

Madisonville-North Hopkins took home the top prize with Marshall County, Paducah Tilghman, and Murray High winning second-fourth place trophies, respectively.

Its always great to win, but theres no doubt we had to beat some great teams to get here, said Rohit Nair, Madisonville-North Hopkins senior and team captain.

Other participating schools were Caldwell County, Calloway County, Fulton County, Graves County, St. Mary, and Todd County Central.

We were thrilled with the turnout, said Gary Goodaker, professor of mathematics at WKCTC and Vice-President of the West Kentucky Academic Association. We also include the written assessment portion of the competition to encourage more students to compete. The goal is to have as many students participate as possible and were so glad to have them all on our campus.

WKCTC President Dr. Barbara Veazey said the college is proud to host the Presidents Cup again this year. Its a great opportunity for high school students from around the region to be in a college atmosphere and interact with our faculty.

WKCTC faculty moderated the competition, which consisted of written assessments in mathematics, science, social studies, language arts, and arts/humanities, and each team played three quick recall matches.

The top five written assessment winners were chosen from each category. First place winners were:
Arts/Humanities - Nick Riley, Paducah Tilghman
Language Arts - Ian Holmes, Murray High
Mathematics Jerry McKensie, Madisonville-North Hopkins
Science Reid Herndon, Paducah Tilghman
Social Studies Will Parker, Madisonville-North Hopkins

The moderators were very efficient, Nair said. And this is definitely one of the best run tournaments we go to each year.