News Archive

WKCTC Staff Member Wins Award of Excellence Honor

Paducah, KY (July 12, 2016) West Kentucky Community and Technical Colleges Nancy Robins of Paducah has been named the 2016 Award of Excellence for Support Staff Member for the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS), college officials announced today.

Robins, student affairs assistant III in WKCTCs registrars office, was first nominated to represent WKCTC at the college level in April of this year, and received the overall support staff system honor this week.

I was surprised to win at the college level, but to win this award from across the system, its an accomplishment that reflects back to WKCTC. I am very proud of that; its (WKCTC) where my heart is, Robins said on learning of her win today.

Each of 16 KCTCS colleges and the system office nominates one administrative member, one faculty member, and one staff member for the award by their fellow college employees. One faculty member, one administrative member, and one staff member from the 48 people are then nominated within the KCTCS system as the top staff and faculty representatives in their categories.

Working at the college for more than 20 years, Robins not only supports WKCTC within the registrar's office but also by volunteering for nearly every event and activity on campus. She is also an active volunteer throughout the community. Robins also received the 2016 Ladd Mathis Award for her volunteer work with the United Way of Paducah-McCracken County - the highest form of recognition the United Way can give to an outstanding community member.

"Nancy is the most student-friendly individual that many of us have ever worked with, and she works long hours to make sure our students get what they need, said Dr. Tena Payne, WKCTC vice president of academic affairs. Her active involvement and support for our community mirrors what she does on our campus.

WKCTC Registrar Jessica Puffenbarger agreed. We are extremely proud of Nancy, and were blessed she is part of WKCTC and the registrars office team."

The staff and faculty Award of Excellence overall recipients are selected for their extraordinary contributions to KCTCS and its students. Robins, faculty award recipient Dr. Deborah Davis from Bluegrass Community and Technical College, administrative staff award recipients, Sheri Plain from Owensboro Community and Technical College and Aimee Wilkerson from Madisonville Community College will receive a crystal award and $1,000 to be used for professional development.

Registration for fall classes at WKCTC is underway. Call 1-(855) GO-WKCTC or visit for class offerings. Fall classes begin August 15.