News Archive

WKCTC Students Named to Honor Society

More than 90 West Kentucky Community and Technical College students were recently named to the colleges Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Dr. Kevin Gericke, a WKCTC Phi Theta Kappa advisor, said PTK campus activities include participation in the Community College Completion Corps, study of the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Study Topic, and numerous community service projects. In addition to Gericke, WKCTC staff who are also PTK members include Samuel Evens, Nancy Robbins, Summer Holland, and Kenda Shaffer. Phi Theta Kappa graduates are identified during WKCTCs graduation ceremonies by wearing the gold honors stole regalia.

Phi Theta Kappa was recognized in 1929 by the American Association of Junior Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges. There are approximately 134,000 students inducted annually in the 1285 chapters on college campuses in both the United States and other countries.

Members by their county residence are:

Ballard County: Kellie Clark, Nicholas Dillon, Robert Forrester, Meredith Kelley, Veronica Perez Rodriguez, Amber Turska

Caldwell County: Lucas Brown, Reba Moore

Calloway County: Tara Croft, Kennedy Garrison, Sheena Hoskins, Jason Kirks, Amy Runyon Dunlap, Heather Sutton

Crittenden County: Amelia Gilley, Brandall Simpkins

Fulton County: Hannah Aldridge

Graves County: Melissa Allcock, Virginia Blanco, Leah Cope, Rebecca Crews, Carrie Engard, Kimberly Fulcher, Kaitlyn Hunter, Christy Jensen, Cristian Lopez, Heather Quinn, John Redden, Georgiana Roberts, Kristie Starks, Jamie Vieitez, Ezekiel Wheat, Gracen Wheat

Hickman County: Gena Wilson, Mia Wilson

Livingston County: Cyndel Bebout, Taran Corbin, Jason Finnie, Kindra Julian-martin, Jessica Smock, Jenny Watkins

Lyon County: Rhonda Collins, Zettie Jarrard

Marshall County: Jonathan Baker, Shelby Doucet, Jacob Hugenroth, Amanda Lenhardt, Joseph McClanahan, Katherine Mcwherter, Crystall Peek, Brandyn Potavin, Teresa Reed, William Simmons, Latesha Stevenson, Hillary Turner

Massac County, IL: Tracy Burkhart

McCracken County: Barbara Adams, Trinia Bailey, Vanacia Barner, Laurie Beasley, Lindy Buie, Sarah Byassee, Barbara Chambers, Danielle Clapp, Joy Courtney, Ryanne Dennison-Jordan, Zachary Everhart, Amanda Forsythe, Crosby Gardner, Hannah Green, Thomas Hagan, Kristin Hardin, Austin Helton, Rebecca Hummel, Lilly Kaler, Sarah Masre, Lauren Mcmanus, Corey Miller, Rhonda Miller, Corey Nance, Allison Petterson, Jae Rayburn-Trimble, Heather Redd, Bailey Robertson, Jordan Robertson, Bing Rounsavall, Joanna Rowland, Jon Savells, Krista Seldat, Lisa Seymour, Kenda Shaffer, Mary Spear, Paul Strasser, Tessa Throgmorton, Caleb Tidwell, Emily Verbaere, Kelly Word

Pope County, IL: Trevor Thompson

More info can be obtained at