Regional Educators Awards and Scholarship Program | WKCTC

Regional Educators Awards and Scholarship Program

Regional Educators Banner

West Kentucky Community and Technical College‚Äôs Fourth Annual Regional Educators Awards and Scholarship Program honors educators who have gone beyond their daily responsibilities and played a tremendous role in the shaping of education in our region. Specifically, the award program seeks to: 

  • Recognize outstanding contributions to prekindergarten, kindergarten, elementary and secondary education as well as the advancement of understanding and support for continued education
  • Honor the vital role all our educators, administrators and supporters play in education

Faculty, administrators and staff from throughout the Jackson Purchase and southern Illinois were nominated for awards in four categories: distinguished faculty for grades pre-kindergarten through fifth, distinguished faculty for grades sixth through 12th, distinguished administrators, and the Cornelia Reece Unsung Hero Staff Award, named for the wife of WKCTC President Anton Reece.

More than 90 nominations recognizing 82 individuals were submitted in this year's program. Nominees have until January 15 to submit applications which will be reviewed by a selection committee made up of educators, business and community leaders. Two finalists and a winner in each of the four categories will be announced on March 11, 2021.

2021 Nominees are:

Taylor L. Anderson - Pre-K Teacher, Heath Elementary School

Peyton Baker - 3rd grade Teacher, South Marshall Elementary School

Crystal Ballard - Special Education Teacher, Lone Oak Elementary School

Amanda Bishop - 4th Grade Teacher, South Marshall Elementary School

Christi Cavness - SPED Teacher, Carr Elementary School

Renda Childress - Read to Achieve Teacher, Reidland Elementary School

Beverly Claybrooks - 2nd Grade Teacher, Fulton County  Elementary School

Kimberly Davidson - Teacher, Morgan Elementary School

Kandi Dawson - MES Third Grade Teacher, Murray Elementary School 

Kaylee Amanda Dickens - 1st grade teacher, Concord Elementary School

Jill Aileen Dobson - Fifth grade teacher, Concord Elementary School

Elizabeth Preston Faughn - Teacher, Concord Elementary School

Morgan Giurintano - Pre k, Jonathan Elementary School

Emily R. Gray - Kindergarten teacher, Concord Elementary School

Aleah Lindsey Gregory - Library Media Specialist, Concord Elementary School

April Griggs - Third Grade Teacher, Reidland Elementary School

Michele Handegan - 1st Grade Teacher, Symsonia Elementary School

Kayla Harrington - Teacher 1st grade, Sharpe Elementary School

Lisa Streetman Jones - Teacher, Concord Elementary School

Brittany Lee Keene - Kindergarten Teacher, Heath Elementary School

Joy C. Lampley - 1st grade teacher, Concord Elementary School

Jaclynn G. Manning - 4th grade teacher, Concord Elementary School

Ann Gurley Morrow - Teacher, Concord Elementary School

Brittany Anne Moxley - Preschool Teacher, Carr Elementary School

Skylar Nunley - 5th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Southwest Calloway Elementary School

Krista S. Ramage - 4th Grade teacher, Heath Elementary School

Brittany Riley - Teacher, Morgan Elementary School

Jill Rogers - 5th grade teacher, Community Christian Academy

Karen Smith - teacher 2nd grade, McNabb Elementary School

Lonna R. Starnes - First grade teacher, Concord Elementary School 

Lydia Tarnowski - Teacher, Morgan Elementary School

Shauna Traylor - Physical Education Teacher, Murray Elementary School

Cristie Lynn Wooten - Teacher, Concord Elementary School

Stacy Wortham - Kindergarten Teacher, Murray Elementary School 

Jennifer D. Bowles - Visual Arts Teacher, Livingston Central High School

Rachael Castillo - English Teacher, Paducah Tilghman High School

Kelly R. Chiles - 6th Grade Science Teacher, Reidland Middle School

Melanie Dawson - MHS Science, Murray Independent School District

Mathew Dillon - Math teacher, Fulton County High School

Shanetha Donaldson - Teacher, Paducah Middle School 

Vanda Elliott - Mathematics Teacher, Graves County High School

McKayla Everly - Technology Teacher Grades 6-8, Paducah Middle School

Daniel J. Farmer - Middle School Math Teacher, 6-8, Fulton Independent Middle School

Stephanie Ford - ELA 8th Grade, Reidland Middle School

Megan Gallagher - English Teacher, Livingston Central High School

Emily Goehman - 6th grade math teacher, Paducah Middle School

Jenny Goins - 7th Grade Reading Teacher, Reidland Middle School

Rita Ann Hosick - Family and Consumer Science Teacher, Livingston Central High School

Danette Humphrey - Instructional Coach/GT Teacher, Paducah Middle School

Greta Leigh Ramage - Business and Marketing Educator, Livingston Central High School

Kathy Thweatt - Teacher, Fulton Independent School

Glenda Wyatt - Keyboarding/Finance/Careers/Public Speaking, Reidland Middle School

Aaron G. Edwards - Principal, Concord Elementary School

Sondra Gibbs - Principal, Fulton County  Elementary School

Jennifer Harris - Principal, South Marshall Elementary School

Bob Horne - Principal, Murray Middle School

Julie Jackson - Director of Operations, Fulton County Schools

Aimee Lepisto - Principal, North Marshall Middle School

Matthew Madding - Superintendent, Graves County High School

Amy L. Ramage - Chief Executive Officer and Director of Pupil Personnel, Livingston County Schools

Jennifer L. Scism - Principal, Lone Oak Elementary School

Allison Stieg - Principal, Paducah Tilghman High School

Shaun Thomas - Principal, Reidland Intermediate School

Denise Whitaker - Principal, Murray Elementary School 


Jim Baurer - Facilities Manager, Murray Independent School District

Heather Bell - Instructional Assistant, Calloway County Alternative School

Debbie Breedlove - Attendance Clerk, Graves County Middle School

Wesley Brown - 21st Century Director, Reidland Middle School

Kelly B. Cash - Secretary, Fulton Independent Schools

Rhonda Childress - Director of Ballard Schools Stop and Go Daycare, Ballard County Schools

Leslee R. Cope - Family Resource Coordinator, McCracken County Schools

Hilary Dawn Cunningham - Head Start Procurement & Accounts Payable Processing Specialist, Murray Independent School District

Milissa P. Hayden - Attendance Clerk, Graves County High School

Stephanie G. Henson - Family Resource Center Coordinator & Director of Community Education, Livingston County Schools

Charles W. Ligon - Head Custodian, Paducah Tilghman High School

Marianna L. Romero - Director of the Reidland Elementary Family Resource Center, McCracken County Schools

Maegan Scott - District Office Administrative Assistant, Fulton County Schools

LaDonna F. Sheerer - Cafeteria Manager, Concord Elementary School

Jill Shelton - Library/Media Specialist, Massac County High School

Devonda Treece - Choir Collaborating Artist, Paducah Public Schools & McCracken Co. Public Schools

Penny Wilson - Secretary, Community Christian Academy

Interested in contributing to the scholarship fund or serving as a sponsor for the 2019 Regional Educators Awards and Scholarship Program? Contacting Lee Emmons at or 270-534-3084. Event sponsors will be featured in program publications.